Department of Commerce

Department of Commerce


Since its inception in 1972, the Dept. of Commerce has progressed consistently. Prof. B.D. Gupta who joined in 1972, was the founder faculty and Head of Dept till his retirement in 2005. Sh. S.P. Gupta joined the Dept. in 1973 and Sh. S.K. Kapil joined on 4th August, 1974. Sh. S.P. Gupta became the Head of Dept. in July, 2005. Subsequently, Sh. Ajay Sharma joined the College in 2001 and in 2011 ascended in seniority to head the Dept. Mrs. Rachna Sardana, Mrs. Pooja Gupta and Sh. Vishal Anand entered the Dept. as regular faculty in 2013. In 21st Century, with increasing significance of Commerce, accounting, management and industry, the Dept. has emerged as a leading center of Commerce studies in the region. At undergraduate level the degree courses offered are B.Com and B.B.A. In 2000, the Dept. introduced M.Com which is successfully run in the Evening Session of the College.



  • Well qualified and regular faculty.
  • Student-centric activities like extension lectures, workshops, competitions and educational visits.
  • Outstanding results and distinctions at University level.
  • Focus on placement opportunities.
  • Grooming of students for self-employment.


Career Options

  • CA
  • CS
  • CMA
  • Financial analyst
  • Banking & Insurance sector
  • Indian administrative services(IAS)
  • Govt. Enterprises
  • Statisticians
  • Teaching of commerce at university or college level


Student Association

In every session, department of commerce constitutes “commerce association” for the over all development of commerce students. All the students of commerce are the member of commerce association but for organizing departmental events, few members are designated or nominated as President, Vice- President, Secretary, Joint secretary and executive members.

 Star Alumni

  • Prof. (Dr.) Sanjeev Bansal (Prof. at department of economics, KUK University)
  • Mr. Amit Rohilla (Assistant Prof. at Gargi college, Delhi University)
  • Ms. Pooja Mittal (Assistant Prof. at RKSD college , kaithal)
  • Ms. Sonali Garg (Assistant Manager , UBI )
  • Ms. Payal Mittal (Assistant Prof. at Govt. college, KUK )
  • Mr. Sourabh Gupta (Company Secetary)
  • Mr. Bhupesh Mittal ( CA)
  • Mr. Arjun Tyagi (Company Secetary)